Collective Soul Appearing At House Of Blues July 13; New Album Collective Soul (Rabbit) Due Out August 25th

13 Jul

Collective Soul Rabbit
By Brian M. Howle

Perennial favorites, Collective Soul, will be performing at House of Blues in N. Myrtle Beach, SC – along with Gavin DeGraw and Green River Ordinance – on July 13, 2009. Led by prolific songwriter/singer/guitarist Ed Roland, these boys have an approachable casualness for their fans but a frenetic edge to their performances. Over and over again, when I attend a Collective Soul concert, I hear those around me exclaiming, “Man! I forgot they did this one!” or “I didn’t realize they did this one, too!”. Their body of work is extensive and deeply varied – which helps to explain their wide range in fans, noting age to genre differences do not deter anyone from being drawn into their appealing brand of music and storytelling.

Globally known for mega-hits such as “Shine,” “December” and “The World I Know,” Collective Soul hails from Atlanta, GA and has produced 7 #1 singles and sold over 10 million records. The band broke into mainstream popularity with their 1993 debut album Hints, Allegations, and Things Left Unsaid. The group’s self-titled second album arrived the following year and logged a 76-week run on the Billboard Top 200. 1999’s critically acclaimed Dosage saw Collective Soul further its run as rock radio superstars. The first single “Heavy” set a new high mark for 15-weeks at #1 on the Mainstream Rock chart. “Tremble For My Beloved” also appears on the gold-certified soundtrack for the hit film Twilight.

I interviewed Ed a few years back, and it has always remained one of my most favorite interviews bar none. He is at once affable, relaxed and yet readily responsive and responsible; the son of a Baptist minister, he admits to having strong differences but even stronger, instilled values and lifestyle that have served him well in his musical endeavors. The best part is that these things come through clearly in his writing style, and many have become signature songs and generational anthems to their hordes of fans.

Also, multi-platinum rockers Collective Soul have revealed the title and track listing to their upcoming Loud & Proud/Roadrunner Records debut album, Collective Soul (Rabbit). The album, which is scheduled for an August 25th release date, was recorded at frontman Ed Roland’s Lake House studio and is self-produced. The first single, “Staring Down,” shipped to Hot A/C and Triple A formats on June 8, followed by the rocker “Welcome All Again,” which will ship on July 6 to Rock formats.

Collective Soul (Rabbit) track listing is as follows:
1. Welcome All Again
2. Fuzzy
3. Dig
4. You
5. My Days
6. Understanding
7. Staring Down
8. She Does
9. Lighten Up
10. Love
11. Hymn For My Father

Collective Soul recently announced a co-headline summer tour alongside platinum recording artist Gavin DeGraw. Be sure to catch them July 13, 2009 at House Of Blues, N. Myrtle Beach, SC (843-272-3000) with Gavin DeGraw and Green River Ordinance; and August 28, 2009 at The Fillmore, Charlotte, NC (704-549-5555) with Black Stone Cherry and Safety Suit. Tickets for all dates are currently on sale. A US headline date in August and September will follow.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: